Autism Talks – I don’t live in another world. I just see the world differently, that’s it

Have not done that in a while, but HAVE to do it now! I am translating this from Russian and reposting. This is my younger sister’s post about herself. Many of you know her and some of you are her friends on Facebook and in real life. Yet for all those who are not – especially for those who speak no Russian at all – I highly recommend to read this. I do not know if it is clear from her writing or not – she is autistic.
 
Hello to all. I see this world in a different way. I a not better than you are. I am not worse than you are. We are just different. And that’s o.k. Let’s try to make friends. Maybe it can work out? Let me tell you about myself. I like to ask two questions: where? and what is it doing? To all other questions I know answers myself. I never ask question what? I know the answer. I never ask why? My answer to this is – I guess it is meant to be that way. But these two questions: where? and what is it doing? – these are my constant questions. I live with them. Most of the times I know answers to these questions, too. But unless and until I do – my mind won’t rest. Until a see the whole picture clearly. Everything I know – I see. Everything I see – I know. I don’t like to be taught. I simply observe. I observe life around me very carefully and that is the way I learn. You think I am not attentive. You are wrong. You words can interest me. Or not. Sometimes I hear them as a bubbling brook or as a piece of music. My senses for me are much more important than words. They are highly developed in me and I trust them. If I am not listening to you it does not mean I am not attentive. I am very attentive to everything that is going on around me. You would be the first one to leave something in my room or forget, because you are so much in your thoughts. I would never do that. I am extremely attentive. I see and notice every detail. You are telling me that I do not look straight in the eyes. I use sight vision, you know? It’s much more developed in me, that’s it. I think I see from above and see the whole picture all at once. But this picture is full of little details. And if I do not see a specific detail, I will be looking for it, asking questions about it, trying to figure it out. I won’t be able to rest until I know. One more thing – I am good at memorizing numbers. The dates are very important to me. I don’t think I know a single man whose birthday I would forget. It would be a horror! I guess that is it for now. Let me know how YOUR brain works!
2 Comments

  1. Yes, whatever your has said about herself n others is cent percent true and correct! I have personal experience of interacting with a friend’s son and my observance is same as your sister has mentioned!
    I would like add only that they have their own world of attraction with more concentration n attention possibly which, is not wordly materialistic but possibly spiritual!
    Coming to mindfulness, body & Mind fitness, Yoga and Body n Mind Exercise I have different thinking and am developing some different, novel and unique unconventional Technique! This is under standardisation and perfection! Either the said Technique would be Patented or, published in form of a Book or two Titled “Absolute Reality vis a vis Actual Yoga” with Copy right protection in a year or, so!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

